Question: What are the different types of Hallmark marks?

The most common order of hallmarks from left to right is; sponsor, fineness (purity) and assay office. Other hallmarks after these are optional. Date letter and any commemorative marks for example are optionally added but, you will most likely see these if the hallmark is being featured for decorative purposes.

Whats the hallmark for platinum?

Look for the words “Platinum, “PLAT, or “PT” followed or preceded by the numbers “950” or “999. These numbers refer to the purity of the platinum, with “999” as the most pure. For example, an authentic piece of platinum jewelry might have a stamp reading “PLAT999.

What is KDM and Hallmark?

Hallmark: Hallmark sign ensures that the gold you have bought conforms to a set of standards. 916: 916 also called as 22K gold which means 91.6 grams of gold have been in 100 grams of alloy. KDM jewellery: KDM jewellery is gold alloy where cadmium is used as a solder or filler with a ratio of 92% gold and 8% cadmium.

Does all platinum have a Hallmark?

All platinum items weighing more than 0.5 grams must now carry a valid hallmark when sold in the UK. The photo on the right shows a typical hallmark. A platinum hallmark will consist of 3 compulsory and 3 optional stamps. This post is a simple platinum hallmark guide, which we hope you find useful.

What is KDM and 916 gold?

BIS hallmarked 916 gold refers to purity grade of gold in the ornament or jewellery. That means purity is 91.6% -91.6 grams of pure gold per 100 grams of gold. On the other hand, KDM gold refers to the gold ornaments that are soldered with cadmium.

Reach out

Find us at the office

Kilbourn- Heiniger street no. 27, 89231 Papeete, French Polynesia

Give us a ring

Tyjah Lebre
+94 417 889 988
Mon - Fri, 9:00-19:00

Join us